National Parks in Central Costa Rica

Central Costa Rica

Spanning Costa Rica's entire central valley, this area of the country encompasses the provinces of Alajuela, San José, Heredia and Cartago. The central zone is home to some incredible wildlife and diverse ecosystems and habitations including virgin forest, rainforest, cloud forest, rivers, lakes and geysers. The Tilarán and Central mountain ranges can also be visited here, plus both dormant and active volcanoes which are dotted along the horizon. It is a truly unique area just begging to be explored by hikers and wildlife fanatics alike. Click on the relevant link to find out more about the National Parks of Costa Rica's central region.